Today’s Dubrovnik Cathedral of the Assumption of the Virgin Mary is built on the remains of two earlier churches. By legend, the first church was financed by King Richard the Lion Hearted, having survived a shipwreck near the island of Lokrum on his way back from the 3rd Crusade in 1192, he vowed to donate the funds to build the church inside the Old Town.
That church in Romanesque style was completely destroyed in the great earthquake of 1667., so the other one is built in 1713 but in the Baroque style. Cathedral contains a rich treasury situated in the beautiful baroque chapel with its collection of around 200 reliquaries. Among the relics enshrined there are the arm, skull and leg of StBlaise the patron of Dubrovnik, all plated in gold.
Fascinating line of paintings by top masters can be found inside the church, like the works by the great Titian and his poliptych of The Assumption of the Virgin Mary from the 16th century above the main altar and many more. Recent archeological exploration of the underground of the cathedral discovered remains of an even earlier Byzanitne church, whose existence was not known as it was not noted in any archive documents. That site opened a numerous questions about the Dubrovnik history, which now can be put already in that time.